The Tyranny of Connectivity

How safe are your gadgets and accounts? The recent increased connectivity of gadgets to online systems and social media accounts is becoming risky and insecure.

I shudder at the thought of what could happen if someone hacked one or two passwords of the gadgets in my possession.
In this era when one has a phone, tab, iPad, MacBook, Desktop and Laptop with all logged into numerous social media accounts like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, Tumbler, Pintrest, Path: social media third party accounts like Socioompah, HooteSuite, Twicca, Buffer; blog sharing sites like Inc, Mashable, Reddit, Quora, buzzfeed, Forbes; online money transfer sites like paypal and bitcoin and job application sites; it is impossible to have a unique password for each. Add blue tooth pairing and cloud storage and the dynamics of private data exchanging with wrong hands is quite abounding.

Personally, I prefer having the same password for all to avoid using the “Forgot your password tab” every time I have to log into my accounts. In fact, I always opt to stay logged in, in all my accounts. (Oh boy, I just made the work of one hacker pretty ABC-ish! *Sigh )
God forbid that anyone should steal any of my gadgets with intent to harm me. Finished will be an understatement!

In addition, most households have their gadgets connected to one router whose password is not entirely rocket scienceĀ  for a seasoned hacker! It is worrying given that this is the information age and if any private details leak out; your goose is done.
Scary, huh?
Something needs to be done about securing connectivity lest incidences of identity theft rise even more.

Leave a comment